The Crosswalk

    NewPer-page social previews and this changelog

    EDA

    Flag of EgyptEgypt - EDA

    GuidanceLast updated · 2024Verified · 2026-07-16

    EDA Medical Device Registration & PDPL Cyber Overlay

    Share

    Authority

    Egyptian Drug Authority

    Enforced

    2019 (Law 151/2019 - EDA establishment)

    Legal framework

    Law 151/2019 establishing the EDA + EDA medical device registration decrees; Personal Data Protection Law 151/2020 (PDPL) for connected-device data handling.

    FDA package reuse

    ~75%

    Scope

    All medical devices placed on the Egyptian market. SaMD reviewed under EDA's software-as-a-medical-device circulars. Connected devices subject to PDPL when processing patient data.

    Pre-market

    Registration dossier modelled on GHTF/IMDRF, with reliance on reference-country approvals (FDA, CE, Health Canada). No standalone medical-device cybersecurity guideline yet; cyber posture assessed via SaMD review.

    Post-market

    Vigilance reporting to EDA; PDPC handles data-breach notifications under PDPL.

    SBOM

    Not specified

    Not addressed by EDA today; CE/FDA SBOMs accepted as supporting evidence.

    Vulnerability disclosure

    EG-CERT coordination for healthcare ICT incidents; no medical-device-specific CVD requirement.

    Penalty

    Registration cancellation, market withdrawal, fines under Law 151/2019.

    Unique requirements

    • 01Egyptian authorised representative
    • 02Arabic-language labelling
    • 03Reliance dossier referencing reference-country approval

    Highlights

    • Reference-country pathway (FDA, CE, HC, TGA, PMDA)
    • Largest MENA market by population
    • PDPL data overlay for connected devices

    Aligns with

    IMDRF N60 ISO 13485 GHTF SG1

    Timeline

    1. 2019

      Law 151/2019 establishes EDA as independent authority

    2. 2020

      PDPL 151/2020 enacted

    3. 2024

      EDA reliance-pathway circulars expanded

    Key documents

    How to submit in Egypt

    Playbook reviewed · 2026-07-16

    Submission route

    EDA registration under Ministerial Decree 296/2009 and updates

    EDA accepts GHTF and CE evidence. Local scientific office representation is required for foreign manufacturers.

    Authority portal

    Step-by-step

    1. Step 01

      Appoint local representation

      Most jurisdictions require a locally-established entity to hold the registration or act as authorised representative before submission.

    2. Step 02

      Reuse FDA or CE package as baseline

      Adapt the cybersecurity subsection you already prepared for FDA or CE; regulators here typically accept the structure and ask for local labeling additions.

    3. Step 03

      Translate and localise

      Local-language technical summary and labeling are usually mandatory; certified translation is safest.

    4. Step 04

      Submit + track queries

      Respond to clarification rounds promptly; each unanswered question can add 30-90 days to the clock.

    Evidence checklist

    Item Level FDA equivalent Notes
    Cybersecurity documentation (baseline FDA or CE) Required SPDF
    Local authorised representative agreement Required
    Local-language labeling and IFU Required
    SBOM Recommended Not mandatory but reduces clarification rounds.

    Common EDA rejections

    No scientific office appointed

    Common

    Fix · Contract a licensed Egyptian scientific office before filing.

    Typical timeline

    End-to-end window: 6-12 months

    Phase 01

    Local rep + dossier prep

    2-4 months

    Phase 02

    Regulatory review

    6-12 months

    Phase 03

    Approval + market entry

    1-3 months

    Related markets

    Frequently asked about Egypt

    Is SBOM required for medical devices in Egypt?

    Not specified. Not addressed by EDA today; CE/FDA SBOMs accepted as supporting evidence.

    What does EDA require for pre-market cybersecurity?

    Registration dossier modelled on GHTF/IMDRF, with reliance on reference-country approvals (FDA, CE, Health Canada). No standalone medical-device cybersecurity guideline yet; cyber posture assessed via SaMD review.

    What are the post-market cybersecurity obligations under EDA?

    Vigilance reporting to EDA; PDPC handles data-breach notifications under PDPL.

    What is the penalty for non-compliance with EDA cybersecurity rules?

    Registration cancellation, market withdrawal, fines under Law 151/2019.

    How much of my FDA cybersecurity package is reusable in Egypt?

    Roughly 75% - an editorial estimate based on overlapping evidence requirements (threat model, SBOM, security risk assessment, pen-test report).